About

IMG_4836 (2)Who Am I?

Well, that’s a good question, where do I start? I’m Brett, I’m 42, got a wife, 3 kids, a dog, 5 cars and 3 motorbikes.

I work for a popular insurance company here in Australia but prior to that I worked in the automotive industry working as a mechanic. I grew up loving cars which is how I ended up in a career fixing them. 10 years later the passion for actually playing with my own cars wore off after spending 40,50,60 hrs a week fixing someone else’s unloved Hyundai. So I knew I had to make a change and ended up in a desk job for the first time in my life about 7 years ago. Luckily, this new start still involved talking about cars all day long but sitting at a computer all day rather than bent over the front end of a car. Much better for my head and much better for my back.

Up until then motorbikes were never really part of my automotive obsession but working with and talking to people long enough with the same passion for two wheels as I had for four had piqued my interest. And I figured you can always fit 4 bikes in the space for one car at home! Anyway, that was 4 years ago and I haven’t really looked back. My first bike was a ’86 Suzuki GR650 which has been built, rebuilt, painted, pulled apart, rebuilt again, modified and put back together again. I’ve also got a ’79 Honda CX500 in the middle of a build but the main ride is my ’08 Suzuki DL650 Vstrom. I bought it as a bit of a 40th birthday present to myself to start touring around and getting away from it all. Plus it’s a really good commuter! Check out the Gallery to see pics of the past and present fleet.

So that’s me I guess. I’m sure I’ll add to this every time I think of something clever to say but for now, that’ll do.

Peace.